## DOAK WALKER NATIONAL COLLEGIATE RUNNING BACK AWARD

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jan 12, 2024

Contact:

Jeff Lockhart lockhart@smu.edu 214-768-4314

## EMMITT SMITH NAMED RECIPIENT OF 2023 PWC DOAK WALKER LEGENDS AWARD

**DALLAS (SMU)** – The **PwC SMU Athletic Forum** has selected former Florida and Dallas Cowboys running back **Emmitt Smith** as the recipient of the **2023 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award**. The award was created in 1998 to honor former running backs that excelled at the collegiate level and went on to distinguish themselves as leaders in their communities.

Smith will be honored at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Friday, February 16, 2024 on the SMU campus in Dallas. Oklahoma State running back Ollie Gordon II, the 2023 Doak Walker Award recipient, will also be honored at the banquet. Smith joins an impressive list of past recipients: Donny Anderson (2022), Abner Haynes (2021); Rocky Bleier (2019), Johnny Robinson (2018), Johnny Majors (2017), Herschel Walker (2016), Barry Sanders (2015), Bo Jackson (2014), Floyd Little (2013), Jim Brown (2012), Tommy McDonald (2011), Jim Taylor (2010), Eric Dickerson and Craig James (2009), Calvin Hill (2008), Marcus Allen (2007), Walter Payton (2006), Jim Swink (2005), John David Crow (2004), Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis (2003), Earl Campbell (2002), Tony Dorsett (2001), Pete Dawkins (2000), Archie Griffin (1999), and Gale Sayers (1998). An icon of the game and the Dallas Cowboys, Smith is the NFL's all-time leader in rushing yards (18,355) and rushing touchdowns (164). Smith's resume includes three Super Bowl championship rings and a Pro Football Hall of Fame induction in 2010.

A first-round pick in the 1990 NFL Draft, Emmitt Smith was the cornerstone of the Cowboys' offense for 13 seasons. The eight-time Pro Bowler was the first player in NFL history to rush for over 1,000 yards in 11 consecutive seasons. On Oct. 27, 2002, he surpassed 2006 PwC Legends Award recipient Walter Payton as the NFL's all-time leading rusher. He was the NFL MVP in 1993 and Super Bowl XXVIII MVP, and he helped guide the Cowboys to three Super Bowl titles.

Smith played his final two NFL seasons with the Arizona Cardinals before signing a one-day contract in February 2005 to retire as a member of the Dallas Cowboys. In September 2005, Smith was added to the Cowboys Ring of Honor with former teammates Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin. He was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006.

Doak Walker epitomized leadership, sportsmanship, and academic and athletic achievement during his outstanding career at SMU. Walker was a three-time All-America choice who won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 1948, was a first round draft pick of the Detroit Lions, led the team to NFL championships in 1952 and '53, and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.